Fulton Chain of Lake Association Adirondack Fourth Lake
fulton chain of lakes
home About Us Boating Water Quality Directors Newsletter Links Contact Us
Fulton Chain of Lakes
Boating
boating

The Fulton Chain of Lakes
Click here to view our
Navigation brochure.

To view our PDFs, you will need the latest
version of Adobe Reader.

Adobe Acrobat

 



Click here to view the New York State Boater's Guide





Boating on the The Fulton Chain of Lakes

Fulton Chain of Lakes Map
Fulton Chain of Lakes Boat Information



Safety, Tips & Regulations
(Click on topic below)

Emergency Numbers
Operating Certificates
Personal Watercraft
Local Law (Town of Webb only)
Reminder
Noise Level
Alcohol/Drugs
Life Jackets (PFDS)
Sanitation
Safety
Water Skiers & Tubers
Courtesy
Speed Limits
Buoys
Right of Way
Lake Features
Fishing
For More Information



 

 

 

 






Emergency Numbers
Police ~ Fire~ Ambulance
Old Forge, Inlet, Eagle Bay . . . CALL 911
NYS Police (315) 369.3322
Sheriff Hamilton (518) 548.6111
Sheriff Herkimer (315) 867.1167

Back to top


Operating Certificates

New York Law requires boaters under 18 years of age either to be accompanied by an adult or, if between 10 and 18 to have obtained a safety certificate from an approved boater’s safety certificate from an approved boater’s safety course.

Back to top

Personal Watercraft
Operators of PWC (Personal Watercraft) must operate their vessel in a reasonable and prudent manner. Weaving through traffic, wake jumping and following another vessel closely, shall constitute reckless operation.

In addition to the Chain of Lakes 5 mph speed limit within 200 ‘ of the shoreline (Sixth & Seventh Lakes 100), New York State Law requires a speed limit
Of 10 mph within 500 of any designated bathing area.

Back to top

Local Law
Effective Only in Town of Webb

Use or operation of personal watercraft and specialty prop-craft is permitted only between the hours of 9:00am and 6:00pm daily.

No person under the age of sixteen (16) may use or operate a personal watercraft or specially prop-craft alone. Such person must be accompanied by a person who is sixteen (16) years of age or older and who has earned a boater safety certificate.

Back to top

Reminder

All persons while operating personal watercraft MUST have a Boater Safety Certificate available for inspection. Our Sheriffs suggest having a copy of the original certificate in a zip lock bag.
Herkimer County Sheriffs WILL BE patrolling the lakes on a regular basis, enforcing all the laws pertaining to watercraft operation.

Back to top

Noise Level
82-86 decibels (noisy vessels are ticketed)

Back to top

Alcohol/Drugs
Boating While Intoxicated
A new state law has toughened the penalties for boating while intoxicated (BWI) so that they generally parallel those for driving while intoxicated (DWI). Under the new law, boat operators suspected of being drunk would be forced to take a breathalyzer test or face a $200.00 fine and suspension of boating privileges for six months. The penalties for conviction vary according to the circumstances but can include one or more of the following.

- Fines
- Imprisonment
- Loss of boating privileges
- Revocation of boat registration
- Enrollment in a boating safety course
- New penalties have also been established for those who operate a boat while the privilege has been suspended.


Life Jackets (PFDS)
The Choice is Yours. Wear a Coast Guard approved Personal flotation Device that fits well; make sure it is the proper type and approved for your specific usage. Actually put it on, adjust it and test it in the water, so you’ll know how it will feel when needed. Do the same for all family members-especially children. Knowing what to expect in the water can prevent panic. Non-swimmers should water a PFD on any boat.

Back to top

Sanitation
The Fulton Chain Lakes is protected by law. The water is used for drinking and cooking. It is illegal to:
- Discharge sewage into the lake or adjacent ground.
- Dump garbage or refuse into the lake, its tributaries, or on frozen surfaces.
- Use soap or detergent for any purpose in the lake, on its shores or into its tributaries.
- Discharge holding tanks into the lake! If you bring it in – take it out with you!

Please do not litter our islands or shorelines.

Back to top

Safety
Have a flotation device for each person on board.
Know location of horn whistle, anchor, and fire extinguisher.
Use running lights between dusk and dawn.
Visual distress equipment ~State law requires all motorboats, 18 ft. and greater in length, operating on protected (state) waters, to carry a distress flag and three hand held type flares.

Back to top

Water Skiers & Tubers
Always wear a vest-type life preserver. Must have a spotter in the boat over age 10, when towing a tube, skier or other device.

Back to top

Courtesy
Be courteous of Others.
Drive at a safe speed.
Avoid playing loud radios.
Observe shoreline regulations.

Back to top

Speed Limits
Channels: 5mph maximum
Within 200 feet of shore (6th & 7th lakes 0 100'): 5mph maximum

Back to top

Buoys
bouys

White w/Orange Stripes
Marks HAZARDS - two or more white buoys parallel to shore mark a HAZARD AREA - stay on the LAKE SIDE OF BUOYS.

Orange/White
5 mph areas and/or obstructions - BEWARE.

Red & Green
"Stay Between" mark channel entrance and exit.


DEC Officer George Gregory has asked of everyone to please watch for  "tampering" with the buoys; please get the boat number or ID of the person(s) tampering with them and report it to the police or the DEC 518.891.2011 (George Gregory)
 
The buoys from the 1st lake channel to Inlet are now solarized; they should be brighter and of course will not need  to have the batteries.


Back to top

Right of Way
In crossing situations the boat on the starboard (right) has the right of way.
A boat being overtaken by another boat has the right of way.
Sailboats/Windsurfers under sail and boats, canoes & kayaks being rowed or paddles have right of way.


Back to top

Lake Features
Open Lakes - stay at least 200 feet from shore.
Channels - stay in the center of the channel, but to the right of on-coming boats.

Back to top

Fishing
There is excellent fishing on the Fulton Chain of Lakes. bass, trout, salmon and panfish are abundant. A NY State fishing license is required for all persons over 16.

07-19-07
Fisherman;
your help is needed to protect the fish from VHS.
Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia. VHS is a serious, contagious virus causing fish mortality in many popular fish species. Thus far it has not been identified in the Fulton Chain of Lakes and with your help it will not occur.

VHS is spread by introducing diseased fish into uninfected populations primarily by fish stocking and the use of bait fish. In an effort to protect our lakes the DEC has developed new regulations regarding bait fish. An informational brochure is available at most fish licensing facilities.

Bait fish must be purchased locally and certified disease free. A dated receipt valid for seven days must be obtained at the time of sale and retained for proof. Unused bait fish and bait water should be disposed of on land and never dumped into a lake or stream. Bait fish from one body of water should never be introduced into another lake. For more information on how you can help protect the fish in our area, please visit www.dec.ny.gov

Back to top

For More Information
For more detailed information on the rules and regulations affecting boating in New York State, the Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation has several publications available. Including a mail-in basic boating certification course for residents 18 years of age and older. You can obtain this information by writing to:

Bureau of Marine and Recreation Vehicles Agency Building 1
Empire State Plaza, Albany, New York 12238
(518) 474-0445

www.nysparks.com/boats

Back to top